FAQ

How does it work?

Carbon heroes allows you to list journeys that you are planning to make, whether regular or one-off, whether driving, looking for a lift or happy to do either. If you find a match, sharing the journey will save money and reduce your carbon footprint.

What’s the difference between the public site and the company site?

The company site is private to employees. In the company version you can see your colleagues’ names, rather than a public alias.

How does peer rating work?

When a journey is completed, the driver and passenger(s) are asked to rate each other. This is important, as members’ ratings allow them to gain confidence that the other party will be reliable.

Why should I care?

Each person’s motivation can be different. Some examples are: to reduce our impact on the environment, to save fuel costs, to save parking costs, to make journeys more sociable, to play our part in reducing congestion.

What’s in it for me?

By sharing journeys, your mileage will be reduced. Most cars cost between 25 pence and 40 pence per mile to run, so a person living 10 miles from work, who leaves their car at home twice a week can save between £500 and £800 per annum.

How often do I have to use it?

There is no minimum requirement for the service regularly, but you’ll accrue more benefit from regular usage and for sharing longer journeys.

How many passengers can I take?

That’s up to the driver. When a journey is listed, they can choose how many seats are available. If they offer more than one, then after a single match they have the option to leave the journey open for other members to search, or to settle for a single passenger.

Will this affect my insurance?

The Association of British Insurers has stated that, provided the driver does not make a profit from carrying passengers, their insurance status won’t be affected by car sharing. They can still recoup some of their costs, please refer to the PayPal question below for more details.

It is still the responsibility of the driver to check their status with their insurance company, should they be in any doubt.

Is it safe? Who will I be travelling with?

Within the corporate service, journeys are exclusive to colleagues, so you may already know the people you’re travelling with. In the public site, users are verified via their address and credit card details. Carbon heroes will introduce a higher level of verification, including electoral roll and DVLA record checking later in 2009.

For more information on safety, please read our Safety Tips.

Is it safe? What about the driver’s insurance and competence?

Carbon heroes doesn’t perform checks on drivers’ licences or insurance details or on cars’ MOT status, as these are uneconomic within the service revenue models.

The rating system gives you the chance to see how other members have been found by their peers. If you are concerned about whether a potential driver has a valid licence, insurance and MOT, you can request them to bring the relevant documents BEFORE you travel together.

For more information on safety, please read our Safety Tips .

Why do I have to register my vehicle?

We record the vehicles of each user for two reasons. The first is so that we can measure the emissions savings from each journey (if a large 4x4 is left at home and a small hatchback is taken, then carbon savings are much greater than the other way round). The second reason is so that you can see what vehicle you may choose to travel in. We ask for your car registration so that passengers can be confident that they’re getting into the right car (if we didn’t, then the service would be akin to online hitch hiking). Car registrations are only shared with passengers when a journey has been agreed (you’ll be asked to confirm that exchange before it happens).

How can I update my personal information?

Click on the “My Profile” link at the top of the page.

Here you can change your e-mail, mobile and various other details.

How do I change my password?

Click on the “My Profile” link at the top of the page.

There you can update your personal information and add locations that you use regularly for journeys.

To change your password, click on the button “Edit Personal Details”, then tick the box “I wish to change my password.” You will be prompted for your old password, then asked to choose a new one. When you’ve done that, click on the “Save Personal Details” button.

I’ve forgotten my password?

Click on the “Forgotten Password?” link next to the login button. You will be prompted for the answer to your security question, then a new password will be sent to your e-mail account.

What is an active journey?

An active journey is one that you’re planning to make and are interested in sharing. It could be a one-off trip, a regular journey that you make or an occasional drive, maybe to visit another office or a major client.

What is a confirmed journey?

A confirmed journey is one that you’ve already agreed to share with someone. It could be one that you’re still due to take, or one that you’ve completed – in which case you can leave a rating for the other party.

What is the regular journey log?

If you share a regular journey with someone, you can use this log to record how many times you’ve travelled together. This helps you track your total mileage and savings, plus it could be a component of a company incentive programme.

How can I update a journey?

Click on the “+” icon next to any active journey. You can then select the option “View Matches / Edit”. This will take you to a page with all of the details of that journey, so you can change the date, time, destination, or any other aspect.

How can I cancel a journey?

Click on the “+” icon next to any active journey. You can then select the option “Close Journey”. Your journey will no longer be visible for other users to match, but any existing confirmed journeys won’t be affected.

Can I invite someone to share a journey?

Yes, this is a new feature in our latest release. When you add or update a journey, you are shown all of the existing matches within the system. If you’d like to invite someone not shown, then type their e-mail address in the “Invite” box above the map and click on “Send Invitation”.

They will receive an e-mail inviting them to register (if they haven’t already) or login, along with your name and the details of the journey you think they might like to share.

I’ve tried to add my vehicle, but can’t see it in the list?

Please click on the “Vehicle Not Listed?” button and complete the details of your car’s manufacturer and model. We’ll add it to the list and let you know when it has been updated.

Are there any tutorials on how to use the system?

Yes, you can visit http://www.youtube.com/user/carbonheroes to see tutorials on how the service works.

Can I block another user?

Yes. If you’d rather not travel with another member, you can add their details as a blocked user. You can continue to use carbon heroes, with that user unable to see any of your journeys.

How do I leave feedback for another member?

When you have completed your journey, check the list within your “Confirmed Journeys” panel. Click on the “+” icon next to the journey in question and you should see a button appear “Rate Journey”.

Clicking on that button takes you to a screen where you can give a rating from 1 to 5 stars and leave a comment about the other party.

Can I view my feedback?

Yes, this is visible at the bottom of the page when you click on the “My Profile” link at the top of the home page.

How can I add a new vehicle?

When you add or update a journey, there is a link “New Vehicle” under the drop-down box to select your car. Clicking on that allows you to add a new vehicle.